standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

THIS Is What Recovery Looks Like

on January 26, 2017

Two months ago I marched in Chicago for equal rights for ALL.  One of the call and responses was “What does equality look like?”–“THIS is what equality looks like!”.  It was this refrain that came to me 2 nights ago as I fought like hell against self harm…except, it came in the form of “THIS is what recovery looks like”.  What did recovery look like that night?

If I didn’t blog (mostly) anonymously, I’d share a photo…because I took one…my face red and tear stained, snot all over my nose, eyes squinched as I did a wall sit…back and head to the wall, in a squat…the advice that came from my psychologist as he received a frantic email from me.  Recovery isn’t pretty.  It’s messy and loud…it’s tears and snot…it’s skills and maladaptive responses…it’s reaching out and isolating…

 

It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done, have ever attempted…and the most beneficial.  Recovery is possible…it’s not easy…and, I can choose it…you can choose it.  Let’s keep fighting!

Leave a Reply

