standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

Scars

on January 7, 2016

I’m righting myself from this last downward spiral…heading upward… taking moments to breathe, working on meal by meal and snack by snack, choosing something different instead of self harm.   My scars are healing…the physical ones I’ve caused and the ones PTSD pulled the scabs off of.  This Pinterest quote has had me thinking…and is giving me enough pause to choose a different way to get through the uncomfortable or painful moments.  It’s similar to what my former pastor would tell me and to see it in print has been my reminder the last few days.  Because…why?  After all the abuse and trauma, why am I causing myself more pain?  I know the psychological reasons and understand that “why”…I’m choosing to put a stop to the abuse…it won’t be by my own hands.

 

Screenshot_2016-01-04-11-54-42

 

 

Leave a Reply

