standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

Humor in Recovery

on February 1, 2014

I am all for finding humor in recovery…typically of the “That’s not really funny” variety.  It is in that world that I share this story….

Without further ado….I started lactating yesterday!!!!!!! And, freaked as I have not been intimate in 4-5 months and obviously not in the greatest mindset recently as I deal with the depression and anxiety to be off and having sex with people.  I hopped out of the tub (my relaxation time) and off to CVS (after throwing on a mishmash of clothing) I went to buy pg tests (for the first time in over 6 years!). I have had an ablation and a tubal and I am working through all of the details as I did the CVS run.  What other symptoms do I have?  Ahh–the weight gain–maybe it’s not a med, but that I am 4months pregnant!?!?!?!?  Gas pains???  Or a baby moving?????  Etc….etc….etc…..

I peed as soon as I got home and it was negative…I was thinking a positive would’ve been divine intervention because I could not see missing the fact that I was 4 months pg. Come to find out–the new med I am on causes weight gain AND can causes lactation–in men AND women!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There is humor in recovery and this is one of those times. To be honest…I was a little disappointed…I never really felt I was done having kids and have felt that more children can come my way via step-parenting or adoption (obviously, I need more self-care right at this moment–hence why I am not dating, either)…but still…lactating threw me for a loop yesterday!!!

7 responses to “Humor in Recovery

  1. this made me laugh. I love it. Thank you. (:

  2. No picnic that’s for sure. Give your self a treat and visit the Punchy Lands…

  3. Mandy says:

    oh lordy–grab the humor anywhere you can find it–thanks for sharing, Lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

