standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

The Basics

on January 27, 2014

I am working on what to share (or not) on the Facebook page and sharing all the details (especially at once) is a bit overwhelming. You’ve all traveled with me through flashbacks and nightmares and making sense of the history I carry with me…It sure seems like a hell of a lot to detail it…kinda like doing my list of numbers.  On the same token, in thinking of starting at the beginning, sharing the childhood piece seemed like a ‘good’ starting point.  I’ve shared the details of my hellish upbringing on this blog and to compress it into this paragraph below, shows me I have done some healing.  I wasn’t triggered as I wrote it…I didn’t dissociate…I didn’t self harm…I didn’t fast or restrict my intake…I just typed it.  That must show healing.  What I have shared on the new FB page is below…thoughts on it??  I want to be authentic without triggering others and supportive without overwhelming people with too many of the details.  The details are mine…and, yours, too as you’ve helped me heal….you’ve given me this outlet to babble and to heal.  Now it’s my turn to try to help others know that healing is possible.  (not that I still don’t need help as I continue on this journey…please don’t abandon me now!!!)

(Standing On My Own Two Feet FB post)

Life can be about the details…and I realize, in order to be transparent and authentic, offering some of those details about myself will allow others to find their support from this page. I will start with a ‘detail’ that ended up being at the core of the tangled web of my life (which I have spent the last 2 years unraveling). The ‘detail’ at the core was child abuse…in the form of sexual, physical, emotional and psychological abuse at the hands of both of my parents starting from infancy/toddlerhood. I type that as I’d type a basic detail…and yet–it is obviously a horrific part of my past. It is a trauma that is part of me, yet doesn’t define who I am. I am here to say–Healing is possible.

5 responses to “The Basics

  1. Mandy says:

    Wow, you have come SO far!! I just feel so proud of you. Moving forward, that’s what this blogging thing is all about–and look at you 🙂 Can I ask how you put your name on your personal photos? I would very much like to know how to do that too. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

