standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

The Last Stitch

on December 20, 2012

What a tangled web we weave…what I believe to be the last stitch came untangled yesterday….in a mix of muddled flashbacks that became more clear…and, as the tears seemed as thought they would never end and the tremors overcame my face and hands…I felt peace.  There are no longer secrets to hide….secrets I had hidden even from myself…because, I didn’t want them to be true…and hurting myself was preferable to reliving more trauma.  I no longer have to hold the ball under the water and try to keep it from escaping.  I am more than the sum of the experiences I have survived.  Maybe I needed to unravel the weave entirely…before being able to stitch it back as it should have been all along.  I have tried to stitch it at so many points…fix, fix, fix….It needed to be untangled…now I can move forward…I have gotten down to the core of me…I can center my mind, body and spirit now that the foundation isn’t rocky.

One response to “The Last Stitch

  1. Oh, so beautiful…Thank you for sharing this very intimate moment. There’s so much wonderfulness ahead of you.

Leave a Reply

