standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

And so it continues…

on November 11, 2012

I don’t know if it was the massage yesterday…or the door clicking during the church service today…but by early this afternoon, I was in flashbacks like nothing I’ve experienced…It was all sensory…I was nauseous and trembling and my arms were going numb…and I could “feel” his breath…and I was terrified.  I didn’t have the visual stuff with it….it was all touch and feelings…I distracted…I walked…I felt the breeze…I hung Christmas lights…I raked all the leaves in the backyard…I showered…I journaled…I reached out to support people…I put on my comfiest sweatshirt.  Advice from fellow PTSD sufferers and assault survivors is much appreciated…I have had other memories coming up and it seemed like today’s flashbacks were mixing times and places…

Leave a Reply

