standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

Why? (Possible Trigger Warning)

on November 10, 2012

I struggle when my children are not in my arms…tonight is no exception…I began working on a canvas, had a glass of wine…and pulled out an old photo album.  In it…photos of me…and my daughter looks so much like me…and this is where the abuse is so hard to believe…I look at that sweet face…which looks so similar to the precious baby I snuggled to the breast, the toddler who had such spunk, the preschooler who is compassionate to her soul…and I wonder, why?  Why?  Why did you scream at that child?  Why did you squeeze her arms and leave such ugly bruises?  Why did you threaten to kill her? Why did you pick her up and throw her?  Why did you tell her she was an ungrateful piece of shit?  Why did you hate that innocent child?  The one who only wanted to be loved.  Why?

2 responses to “Why? (Possible Trigger Warning)

  1. I just found your blog and I’m in tears…hoping you come to know the love and safety you deserve…hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

