standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

Moments of Healing

on November 7, 2012

 

 

As I journey to the center of me, I find ways that speak to my soul…music, writing, painting, nature, photography….Here are some of the things I have worked on in the last year as I worked through pieces of healing.  I abandoned painting and creative writing after the rape…I didn’t realize I had until a few months later…in those months of anxiety and restriction and fasting, I isolated from friends and things I was passionate about.  I am regaining those aspects of me.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses to “Moments of Healing

  1. Cassandra says:

    It’s amazing to see what comes out of our soul when we turn off our filers, lower our walls, and “dance like no one is watching”. What beautiful pieces of artwork! Keep on letting your inner soul shine and thank you for sharing such an intimate view of what’s going on behind walls, masks, and professional face you have to put on sometimes in order to play well others. Before you know it, your inside and outside will be so fluid — you won’t have to hide your true beauty.

  2. It’s all there…I am letting it come out…learning to let go of the “It’s not good enough”…my first canvas I’d painted was on display last month, with 25 others, for an event for National Organ and Tissue Donation. It was when they wanted to display it that I thought I might need to revisit my focus on “Good enough”…maybe my perception of myself was harsher that I thought. I am learning to be kind to myself.

Leave a Reply

