standingonmyowntwofeet

A Journey from Victim to Survivor…to Living Freely

Panic Attack

on October 25, 2012

There are times I think I am handling things well…I’ve been told I maybe handle them too well.  I think that’s the case with the fact that I was awoken at 4:42am in the midst of a panic attack….racing heart, nausea, shaky hands, teary…not from a nightmare….I think it was just my brain and body’s way of saying “We are doing a lot of work here and we could only hold it together for this long.”  It reminds me that I am still doing the trauma work…and it’s still okay to cry…and I don’t have to put on a happy face.  I feel I am through the worst aspects because I am not in a steady barrage of flashbacks and nightmares and sobbing.  There is still healing to take place.  And  that is okay.

Leave a Reply

